HospitalityBiz India
Hotels FoodService Operations Ministry Associations Equipment Editorial HR Technology Technology Advisory Board Community
Follow us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter instagram
    Home > NewsTrack

HRAWI starts independent classification of hotels under IHQS

Friday, October 27, 2017, 17:21 Hrs  [IST]
HBI Staff |Mumbai

After an year’s gap of formalizing an independent hotel classification system - Indian Hospitality Quality Standards (IHQS) – Hotel & Restaurant Association of Western India (HRAWI), has announced the formal roll out IHQS in the Western region by certifying 13 hotels across Maharashtra under the new norms.

HRAWI’s IHQS Certification will classify hotels as Budget, Classic, Premium, Luxury, Deluxe Luxury and Primo Luxury in line with global hospitality standards.

With this new classification system, HRAWI hopes to remove any ambiguity for tourists checking into an Indian Hospitality Quality Standards (IHQS) Certified Hotel. The objective behind this initiative is to bring in standards of evaluation and parity that are in line with international standards, as well as making redundant some criteria in star ratings that have become irrelevant today.

“ The objective behind developing the IHQS is to educate our members on modern quality standards as well as reduce the burden of the Ministry of Tourism (MoT). Presently, the MoT is responsible for conducting audits and rating hotels. So now the Government can focus on improving and promoting tourism, while we from the industry are doing our bit to support the initiative,” says Dilip Datwani, President, HRAWI.

 HRAWI has engaged an external agency for the purpose of auditing hotels which will independently verify and award each hotel a fair classification based on product and service standards experienced. Along with the awarded certificate, the agency will transparently share a detailed scorecard that will allow the hotel to make improvements if and where required.

“….Over the past many years, standards have suffered a terrible dilution of a simple goal of explaining to the consumers what they can expect from a hotel. Also in the interim, several hotel service companies such as Online Travel Agencies (OTAs) and many self-appointed quality monitoring and advisory - review sites have mushroomed announcing and creating their own standards. These entities may not even be equipped to audit hotel establishments but are defining the industry standards and misleading guests. With an apex industry association like HRAWI overlooking the process of classification, hotels can be assured that a fair, competent and capable body is doing the job,” says Kamlesh Barot, past President, FHRAI & HRAWI.

Those hotels which got certified under the new IHQS classification included The Shalimar Hotel, The Fern Residency, Golden Swan Beach Resort, The Emerald, Peninsula Grand Hotel, Sun-N-Sand Hotel, Holiday Inn Mumbai international Airport, Waterstones Hotel, T24 Residency, Hotel Transit, Hotel Meluha, Renaissance Mumbai Hotel and Convention Centre and Hyatt Place, etc.

Print News Email News Back
Bookmark to Add to NewsvineNewsvine Bookmark with Digg ItDigg
Add RSS to Add to Google Add to My Yahoo! Subscribe with Bloglines Subscribe
* Name :    
* Email :    
* Message :  
  H&R Johnson opens sixth Experience Store in India to service Customers, Architects & Designers as a one-stop-shop
  Conrad Maldives Rangali Island Announces Opening of The Muraka, World’s First-of-its-Kind Residence
Receive the best of Hospitality content in your mailbox.
Weekly e-Newsletter
Events Calendar
IITT(India International Travel & Tourism Exhibition)
January 10 -12, Bandra Kurla Complex, Mumbai

SATTE(South Asia's Leading Travel Show)
January 16 - 18, India Expo Mart, Greater Noida, Delhi-NCR

© Copyright 2016 Saffron Synergies Pvt Ltd